Travelgirlmag

Easiest Holiday Recipe – for Busy Travelgirls

These delicious treats are perfect for holiday get-togethers and hostess presents.

Last year I hosted a Mother-Daughter Tea Party with a group of my high school friends. It was a total blast and a very easy party to host. It would have been even easier if I hadn’t bothered to borrow 24 gorgeous matching tea cups from my neighbor’s sister. Faced with the choice of tea or champagne, my friends all made the predictable choice. What was I thinking?

All the girls brought food and we had a great time chatting, eating and toasting to our old friendships and our beautiful daughters. Robin made these fun, easy and colorful treats: Hershey’s Peppermint Squares. These are so easy, y’all – the most time-consuming part is just unwrapping the kisses. If you have a resident kid, just put them to work. I made them again for my annual Book Club Dirty Santa Gift Exchange last night and they were a big hit.

Hershey’s Peppermint Squares

Snyder pretzels – the square ones that look like little windows

Peppermint Hershey’s kisses

M&Ms – I used regular ones, but a friend last night said she would try the dark chocolate ones.

Place Hershey’s kiss on pretzel. Place in 170 degree oven for 4-5 minutes, just to soften. Place M&M on top.

Yield: However many you feel like making

They probably would keep a while, but believe me, they are too good to last. Unless you drop the remainder in your driveway like I did last night when I got home. The five-second-I-don’t-see-any-dirt rule may have been applied.

– Jan Schroder

This entry was published on December 10, 2010 at 7:58 pm. It’s filed under Travel Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

