Travelgirlmag

A Berlin Beauty: Hôtel Concorde Berlin

By Jan Schroder

Looks kinda like New York doesn't it? The Hôtel Concorde Berlin has been described as self-confident and sophisticated. Two things I strive to be.

I saw a lot of things I would have loved to bring back with me from my recent trip to Berlin. Including an entire new wardrobe with pieces from Berlin’s young designers. (Read more about that in my article on Berlin in the next issue of Travelgirl.) I’d also would have liked to export several of the features in my splendid hotel room at Hôtel Concorde Berlin.

My very large room, decorated in warm colors and hardwoods, had a huge walk-in closet, speakers in the bathroom and a shoe rack – a first for me in a hotel room. Unlike my Danny DeVito-sized bathtub at home, the bathtub here was large enough for a party of four. Although I prefer to soak alone.

In addition to being large, every room at the hotel has at least three windows and a window seat.

Although the limestone exterior of the 17-story hotel would look right at home in New York, the hotel has little French touches, including a French-style brasserie, Le Faubourg Brasserie, where you can get crepes suzette and steak tartare.

The bartender-created cocktails at Lutece are not to be missed. They contain fresh herbs and spices including ginger and arugula.

The Club Etoile at sunset. This was my favorite place to relax after a long day of touring Berlin.

I loved the Club Etoile, the lounge on the 11th floor, where I enjoyed breakfast each morning with a view of Berlin and also a few evening snacks and cold beverage before heading out for the evening.

Hôtel Concorde Berlin is the first hotel in Germany to get the Green Globe certificate, so the staff uses certified cleaning products. And they use different cloths for different purposes. You won’t find the housekeepers using a washcloth to wipe down the toilet followed by the water glasses. (Yes, appallingly, this does happen even in the finest hotels. Always, always clean your hotel glassware before using!)

I'm not a beer-drinker but the Berlin Beauty cocktail at Lutece Bar was made with this flavored beer. Delicious!

Centrally located, it was the perfect hotel for our shopping and art-focused getaway. And there’s plenty of art right in the hotel, commissioned by three German artists.

It also has one of my favorite features, which is all too rare in a nice hotel – free wireless service.

Hôtel Concorde Berlin had all the comforts of home. And then some.


This entry was published on April 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm. It’s filed under Berlin, Jan Schroder and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

