Travelgirlmag

Interview with Lisa Baron

By Jan Schroder

Lisa Baron, author of Life of the Party

My big regret about my interview with Lisa Baron, author of the hilarious Life of the Party, A Political Press Tart Bares All, is that we weren’t doing it over a delicious cocktail. And we didn’t have more time. She’s that kinda gal – the kind you want to share Lemon Drops and I-can’t-believe-I-did-that stories with.

The next best thing is to read her book, which contains plenty of those cringe-inducing, can’t-believe-she-got-away-with-it stories that will have you ROTF.

In her own words, her book is the story of “a woman who is socially moderate, wears her skirts a bit too short, is often over-served but gets the job done while working for a high-profile Christian politician.” Lisa, a self-professed not-so-nice Jewish girl, was the spokesperson for Ralph Reed, the Director the Christian Coalition. She says the theme of her book is that you have to carve your own path in life. “Coattails are for cowards.”

Purchase Lisa’s book on her site or on Amazon.

TG: What inspired you to write the book?

LB: The idea that when I finally stopped pretending to be something I wasn’t, I became who I am and became successful, in life and as an author. In a world where I probably didn’t work, conservative Christian politics, I realized one of these things just doesn’t belong. It was me. All along I sensed the absurdity of it and knew my life had the perfect trappings of a book.

TG: What advice would you give to young girl starting a career in politics?

LB: Stay true to yourself, get the job done, know all the questions, and keep your personal life separate from of your professional life. Answer all the questions like you know all the answers, particularly in a political environment. You have to be on your toes because you are being asked so many questions. You must be credible and knowledgeable. If you don’t know the answer, pretend you do.

TG: What qualities do you think are most important for women succeed in politics?

LB:  You have to have a tough skin and unforgiving work ethic. I still believe that women have to work harder to succeed than men do. When I see a female CEO or U.S. senator, I know they worked 10 times harder to get to where they are than male counterpart. I automatically have more respect for them.

TG: what do you always take with you when you travel?

LS: My Kindle and my iPod

 

 

This entry was published on September 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

